Weigh In Wednesday #3

My favorite part: You hear rice cake and you think, Okay. Cake. I’ll give it a try. Then you bite into that thing. I’ll tell you, cake does NOT come to mind.

Weigh In Wednesday #3 – Woot woot!

you are hereProgres WIW 3

What went well this week?

I ate a lot more vegetables than I usually do, and not all just via salad (although that remains my go-to “filler” item).  Carrots, cauliflower and Brussels sprouts featured prominently for me this week.  I also did a good job keeping to my 20/30/50 goal – I’m trying to balance my calorie intake as 20% proteins, 30% fats, 50% carbs.  But the thing of which I am most proud?  Helene had an IEP meeting this week, which is a GINORMOUS stress trigger for me.  But.  BUT! I did NOT stress-eat.  Nope.

What did not go well this week?

I’m leaning pretty heavily on caffeine as an appetite suppressant, and my water intake is suffering for it.  And, while I am definitely making progress in the frequency of my exercise, I need to work on the variety.  I keep focusing on cardio – running, hiking – but I need to get some strength training in there, too.  So, goals for the coming week:  up the water intake, lower the caffeine intake and lift some heavy stuff.  Rinse.  Repeat.

Whaddya got to eat around here?

5.5 ounces skinless chicken breast, one dozen Brussels sprouts sauteed with garlic and pancetta, 1/2 cup rice pilaf = 470 calories

5.5 ounces skinless chicken breast, one dozen Brussels sprouts sautéed with garlic and pancetta, 1/2 cup rice pilaf = 470 calories

This was dinner on Monday and Tuesday night.  I prepared the chicken breast in a frying pan with the juice of one-half a large lemon, garlic powder, onion powder, kosher salt and white pepper.  The Brussels sprouts were sautéed with pancetta and fresh minced garlic, salt and pepper in a French skillet.  (I prepped the pancetta first, then added the sprouts, turned heat to low, covered and let the steam do the rest.)  The rice pilaf is Uncle Ben’s Ready Rice.  I got a little lazy.  ;-)

And how do you feel about that?

I noticed that I feel mentally stronger and more in control – I was really proud of how well I handled my anxiety leading up to Helene’s IEP.  My pants seem to fit a little better.  And, I think most importantly, I continue to feel motivated to make better choices when it comes to food and exercise.

Tip of the Week

As I mentioned, I upped my vegetable intake this week.  I’ve got a couple of go-tos that make vegetables more enjoying and satisfying for me.

1.  Salad Dressing.  I make my own.  I use either Good Seasons or Wishbone dry powder mix, and I blend it with about 1-1/2 tablespoons of olive oil, 1 cup of apple cider vinegar and about a tablespoon of water.  Sometimes, I add fresh garlic, basil and oregano (but only if I know I will use all of the dressing in a couple of days).  This makes enough dressing for 6-8 servings of salad, and it ends up being about 25-30 calories per serving.

2.  Lemon Juice, Salt & Pepper.  Growing up, my grandparents served whatever vegetables we had with butter.  So, I learned to like buttered carrots, corn, broccoli, string beans, etc.  It’s a hard habit to break, especially if you’re going cold turkey from buttery-salty goodness on your veggies to bland-nakedness.  Now, that’s not to say that naked vegetables aren’t tasty – they are.  Eventually.  But, sometimes they need a little boost in the flavor department to be really satisfying.  I found that squeezing lemon juice onto cooked vegetables, then sprinkling them with salt (preferably flake salt) and pepper (I prefer white pepper) added a whole new flavor complexity that filled the void in my heart that butter once filled.  (I believe they call that arterial plaque …)

3.  Bacon.   Awwwwwwwww, yeah.  Well, ok.  Not bacon per se.  Pancetta.  I happen to be a fan of Brussels sprouts.  No, there is no reasonable explanation for that.  I just like them.  Mostly, though, I like them sautéed in bacon fat with garlic and onions.  You could maybe saute your shoes in bacon fat with garlic and onions, and I’d like those, too.  Any – who.  Sauteing in bacon fat may not be the healthiest way to prepare vegetables.  2 slices of bacon contains about 70 calories and 6 grams of fat.  By contrast, the same amount of pancetta has about half the calories and fat.  Yet, pancetta and bacon both come from pork belly; the only real difference is that bacon is smoked when cured and pancetta is not.  So, you’ll still get most of the bacon-y goodness with fewer calories and less fat.

How YOU doin’?

I pass the Celery Stalk of Talk to you.  How’s it going this week?

2 comments on “Weigh In Wednesday #3

It's boring when I do all the talking around here. Speak now, while you can get a word in edgewise.

