Weigh In Wednesday #4

Recipe for Success

Weigh In Wednesday #4 – Woot woot!

you are hereWeigh In Wednesday #4

What went well this week?

EXERCISE!

200 miles

I was money this week in the exercise department.  I did my longest run to date – 6.80 miles.  My runs have all been at least 4 miles, and my time is improving.  Best mile this week?  10:57.

What did not go well this week?

I knew this week was coming.  Candidly, I’m surprised I made it a whole month before it arrived.  The dreaded set-back week.  My only explanation for the weight gain is hormones, because I was great this week about what I ate, journaling it and exercising.  Also, I lost an inch around my waist, three inches from my hips and my body fat percentage is improving.  So, I chalk this week up to bloat and let it slide like water of a duck’s back.

Whaddya got to eat around here?

ham sandwich Screen Shot 2013-10-02 at 9.37.19 PM

This is my go-to lunch right now.  I recently discovered the wonderful deliciousness that pepperocinis bring to a sandwich.  Holy awesomesauce.  I highly recommend peeking at your teeth after this meal, though.  Unless you want to walk around with poppy seeds in your grill all day.  Not that this happened to me.  At all.  Ever.

And how do you feel about that?

I feel accomplished, and I feel proud of myself for really committing to this.  I’m disappointed about the weight gain, but I’m not discouraged.  I know this is part of the process, and I still feel like I made great progress this week.  As I said at the beginning, this journey isn’t just about my weight – it’s about ALL of me feeling healthy.  That part is definitely working.

Tip of the Week

Don’t depend solely on the scale as your litmus test for how you’re doing.  Remember, exercise impacts your weight loss not just by burning calories but by burning stress.  When you are under stress, your body releases a hormone called cortisol.  Cortisol basically tells your body, Danger, Will Robinson.  That bat signal tells your fat cells to hold on tight instead of metabolizing, because your body thinks you need to conserve fat as an energy source in case of emergency.  When you exercise, your body releases adrenaline and endorphins – these hormones tell your brain that you are happy, reducing stress.  Reducing stress reduces cortisol, which (hopefully) increases metabolism, because your fat cells aren’t needed.  Added bonus:  your brain does a better job with seratonin, which means you feel emotionally better, too!

How YOU doin’?

I pass the Celery Stalk of Talk to you.  How’s it going this week?

3 comments on “Weigh In Wednesday #4

  1. Bec says:

    I’m confused… the chart shows you lost weight from the previous week to the current week? Anyway, I want to thank you for these updates. They’ve really encouraged me to get my butt moving, and I totally agree about not relying on the scale to tell you how you’re going. I haven’t looked at one in years because it’s so easy to obsess over that number. You’re doing such a great thing here, thank you for the inspiration!

    • ProfMomEsq says:

      Uuuuuuggggghhhh! You’re not confused, Bec. I posted the wrong image. I weighed 161 this week, for a gain of 3 pounds. Thanks for catching that! Thank you more, though, for being so supportive. I am thrilled to inspire folks to choose healthy. That said, should we ever happen to be on the same continent, “healthy” takes on a whole new meaning. Agreed!? :-) + <3

      • Bec says:

        Hahaha, agreed! I really like how you show your healthier food choices and how it’s not that hard to make food tasty and good for you at the same time.

It's boring when I do all the talking around here. Speak now, while you can get a word in edgewise.

