“I Wish I Didn’t Have Aspergers”: An #AutismPositivity2012 Flash Blog Event


I came across this on two different blogs I read:  Flappiness Is and The Third Glance.  It is a wonderful idea, and I am excited to take part in it. To read more about this project, please go here:

To “I Wish I Didn’t Have Aspergers”: An #AutismPositivity2012 Flash Blog Event.

I haven’t been the biggest fan of Autism Awareness Month.  Like many parents, I am all TOO aware every single day of my daughter’s life – and those days don’t happen only in April.  I also find myself very angry at or depressed by most of the media coverage on ASD during this time, which sadly does more to reinforce stereotypes, trigger hysteria or raise false hopes in the name of ratings, forsaking the whole spirit and purpose of raising awareness and fostering acceptance.

Similarly, it’s been sad and difficult to see the dissension within the ASD community, especially when that leads to anyone in the community feeling as though she is not heard or understood.  It makes me think back to the days right after my daughter’s diagnosis, when I was desperately seeking information and often found my Internet searches leading me into a quicksand of despair.  When my daughter is of an age to start asking questions about herself and to want to find information that helps her understand Autism, I want her to find the posts from this project; not bitter words, misinformation or ostracism.

So, I eagerly add my voice to this project and encourage anyone – with or without a blog – to do the same.  If you don’t blog and would like to use my blog as a vehicle for making your story a part of this beautiful project, please email me at profmomesq at hotmail dot com.

4 comments on ““I Wish I Didn’t Have Aspergers”: An #AutismPositivity2012 Flash Blog Event

  1. gkinnard says:

    Wonderfully written! Thank you for making people aware of this project!

  2. Parenting says:

    A couple of weeks ago, someone somewhere googled, “I Wish I Didn’t Have Aspergers.” The phrase popped up in a blogging dashboard and struck the blogger as being particularly sad. She wished she could have answered that someone, and that sparked an idea, which kindled a dialogue, and led to this action by an awesome group of bloggers, whom I am proud to call my friends.
    _________________
    Aspergers syndrome
     

It's boring when I do all the talking around here. Speak now, while you can get a word in edgewise.

