It’s Here! Putting the Blog in Balrog: Hobbit/Lord of the Rings Group Read #LotR #PtBiB

Image credit: SJ at Snobbery.

Today’s is June 23.  That means it’s time for Putting the Blog in Balrog, a group read of The Hobbit and the Lord of the Rings trilogy.  This is the brainchild of one of my most awesomest Tweeps/blog-friends, SJ over at Snobbery.  If you are interested in joining us, here is the reading schedule.  Then, read on below.

First, whether you will read these books for the first time or the hundredth time, do yourself a Gandalf-sized favor by checking out the easy-to-read, entertaining and very helpful summaries SJ wrote for the various chapters of The Silmarillion. (The Sillmarillion is the story of the birth of world, the gods, the creatures and humans we later meet as wizards, elves, orcs, hobbits, dragons, dwarves, spiders and other such magical, mystical, creeptastic things.)

SJ’s summary divides into five parts:

Part I:  Ainulindalë (Music of the Ainur) and Valaquenta (Tale of the Valar)

Part II:  Quenta Silmarillion (the Tale of the Silmarils)

Part III:  Quenta Silmarillion (the Tale of the Silmarils) (continued)

Part IV:  Quenta Silmarillion (the Tale of the Silmarils) (continued) (Now do you see why you should read the summary?!?)

Part V:  Akallabêth (The Downfallen) and Of the Rings of Power and the Third Age

Also, if you are (or become or would like to become) a LotR super-fan, check out David Jón Fuller’s blog over at As You Were. He will hook you up with the “Total-nerd Tolkien reading plan.”  This is a road map for the order in which you should read Tolkien’s published works on Middle-earth, in addition to The Hobbit and the LotR trilogy.

If you’d like to join us, just read per the schedule, then visit Snobbery at the end of each reading section to peruse SJ’s posts and the participants’ comments on the group read.  If you have your own blog, you can write your thoughts and point us toward them.  And, don’t worry if you can’t keep perfectly to the schedule — SJ’s posts will be there when you’re ready, and you can still leave a comment.

Personally, I am ridiculously excited about this.  I haven’t The Hobbit or the LotR trilogy since I was very young, and I’ve forgotten more from the stories than I remember.  I started reading The Hobbit early (because I cheat), and already I realize that it’s like reading a whole new book.  Now, I get the added benefit of sharing it with others who love it, too.

So, come meet us in the Shire.  Don’t forget your pocket kerchiefs or your pipe!

13 comments on “It’s Here! Putting the Blog in Balrog: Hobbit/Lord of the Rings Group Read #LotR #PtBiB

  1. […] Read th&#1077 original here: It's Here! Putting th&#1077 Blog &#1110n Balrog: Hobbit/Lord &#959f th&#1077 Rings Group … […]

  2. davidjfuller says:

    Huzzah! I would comment in Elvish or in the Black Speech of Mordor, but I’m not THAT much of a Tolkien nerd that I’m able to do that. Keen to hear what everyone has to say — and thanks very much for the shout-out!

  3. […] III: ProfMomEsq weighs in here. Any other Tolkien bloggers and Hobbit readers? Leave your comments so we all know where to find […]

  4. Well, why the hell not? I haven’t read those books in AGES and they are right here sitting on my shelf. I also happen to be between books at the moment. Kismet? Perhaps. Thanks for promoting the group read!

  5. sj says:

    I’m also really hoping some of the first-time readers will be willing to write up their thoughts on it. I’m sure it’s been WAY hyped for them, it’d be nice to see something from someone who’s going in fresh.

    Thank you, btw. 🙂

    • ProfMomEsq says:

      Me, too. And, I’m hoping that there’s a good mix of ages, too. I definitely saw these books through different eyes at 9 and 10 than I see them now.

      And, you are very welcome. You did all the work. I just did the copy/paste. 😉

It's boring when I do all the talking around here. Speak now, while you can get a word in edgewise.

