Has It Really Been a Year? Happy Birthday, ProfMomEsq!

It does not seem possible to me. At all. But, there it is.

Happy Blogging Anniversary

I started this blog on my 40th birthday as a present to myself, so I think my blog should have “birthdays” and not “anniversaries.”  I mean, it’s not like my blog and I are dating.  It sprang forth from my soul!  (Or, at least, my Mac.)  So, Happy Birthday to my blog!

[INSERT YouTube video of (a) The Beatles singing You Say It’s Your Birthday; (b) 50 Cent *ahem* singing In Da Club; or (c) some furry looking animal creature singing one or the other of those songs in a weird, squeaky voice while popping out of a cake.  You decide.  They block my shit at work …]

When ProfMomEsq was born, I had no idea where I’d go with it, or where it might take me. Frankly, I was thrilled I came up with a blog name.  Do you know how HARD that is?  It’s really, really, really damn hard.  It might’ve been harder than naming my kids.  And can I just tell you how pissed off I was when I went to set up a YouTube account for the blog and someone ALREADY HAD MY BLOG NAME as her user name?!?!  There is no freakin’ way someone else thought of that.  None.  Zero. Zip. Nada.  *glares at audience*

Truly, I expected to spend a lot of time talking to myself here.  I figured I could just barf up whatever word vomit I had in the pit of my stomach, and it would sit here in this little corner of the Internet, collecting dust bunnies and supporting spider webs (ha!) and yellowing a bit at the edges.  I had not even the first inkling of the amazing, funny, smart, wonderful people I would meet each time I pushed the magical button.

Defcon 5! Defcon 5!Screen Shot 2013-02-06 at 3.55.32 PM

I think it’s safe to say that the last 365 days truly changed my life.  I accomplished much more than I dared hope.

71 posts written

32,282 views (and 8,199 of those came in one day!)

924 comments

Most frequent search terms: “garden gnome” and “flipping off.”  (Right.  I don’t know either. But, you people have issues.)

Second most frequent:  Hobbit and Lord of the Rings stuff.  Now, I KNOW what this is about, and all you kids trying to use my blog to do your English homework, GET OFF MY LAWN!  Also, go hug your English teachers for assigning that shit, because s/he’s much cooler than mine ever were. And for fuck’s sake, READ IT!

204 people who think I’m worth following around.  (Right.  I don’t know either. Did I mention you people have issues?)

One post Freshly Pressed.  (Thanks, WordPress!)

Some awards. (One of which I shamefully have not blogged about yet.  Sorry, Joy at I Can Say Mama!)

Most viewed:  this one.

Most comments:  this one.

My favorite post of the year:  this one.

Writing is a solitary endeavor, but no one blogs alone. So, this seems like a really good time to say, “Thank you.” Thank you to everyone who stopped by for a read, introduced him/her/itself, left a comment, linked back or helped me pimp this sucker.  Thank you to my adoring husband, who proofread and approved most of my posts.  (But, the typos are all mine – don’t blame him.)  Thank you to my beautiful daughter, who is the frequent and involuntary subject of many of my posts but whose life I gleefully, proudly and lovingly share.  Thank you to my son for being the background music for many of my writing sessions and for not being utterly embarrassed by me even though I’m a dorky mom who says “yo” a lot even though it’s not cool.  Yo.  Thank you to the rest of my family and to my friends for your support of this project in ways big and small.  I love how much more connected this makes us … in a slightly ironic way.  😉

I’d like to especially thank the people who – wittingly or unwittingly – helped me get started in the blogosphere and kept me going:

  • Heather at Between the Covers – you are my most regular commenter and always quick with a RT.  Thank you.  I’m so happy to know you. My bookshelves are all the better for it.  😉
  • sj at Snobbery – thanks to you, I have some nifty pictures on my blog and lots of new fun tech toys, like Jing and Goodreads and Spotify and Storify. You introduced me to some great people through the LOTR read-along, too!  Thank you for being nice to an old lady.
  • George Kinnard at Coalescence – I don’t know how you found me, but you did, and you offered me some wonderful words of wisdom and support for which I am terribly grateful.
  • Rose at Love Many, Trust Few – my fellow autism-mom halfway across the world. I’m still reading along with you, even though I’m not as good about the commenting as I was.
  • Amy at Lucy’s Football – I still cannot believe you blog every day.  You were certainly an early inspiration for me!
  • Jillsmo at Yeah. Good Times. – you are the reason I know that the people in my computer are (sometimes) *real* people. You also were the catalyst for meeting so many of the awesome people I now know.  You also helped understand that IRL friends are not necessarily from Ireland.  I ❤ you.
  • Jim at Just a ‘Lil Blog – mostly because you introduced me to Lexi at Mostly True Stuff, but also because you’re a pretty cool dude, no matter what Lexi says. That, and you wrote one of the funniest blog posts I’ve ever read.  (HINT:  clam/shazam!)
  • Elizabeth at Muse~ings – for helping me keep my chin up by agreeing to my New Year’s Eve “Jar of Success” blog project. I can’t wait to open our jars!

Finally, I want to thank an extraordinary group of mostly women and a few very gullible select men who write blogs for the autism parenting community.  You know who you are, but I hope you also know I think you are all incredible, remarkable, inspiring, marvelous, ridiculously funny people.  And you all smell suspiciously of bacon.  I’m hugging you all now, and you feel weirdly boxy and kind of cold.  Also, why do you keep beeping like that?

Happy First Birthday to ProfMomEsq.  YOU – yes YOU (Quit looking behind you. There’s no one there, and people are staring.) – are the best birthday gift I could receive.  Let’s see if we can make it another year, no?  Word!

15 comments on “Has It Really Been a Year? Happy Birthday, ProfMomEsq!

  1. Bec says:

    Happy birthday to youuuuuuuuu! The wonders of the internet mean you don’t have to be subjected to my terribly, terribly awful singing. I’m so glad I found your blog this year. I remember reading for a while before getting the courage to comment, and then wondering why it took me so long because you’re an awesome, amazing and totally cool human. Roll on Year Two!

    • ProfMomEsq says:

      No, no, no. The wonders of the Internet mean I should be TOTALLY and UTTERLY subjected to your singing, terrible or otherwise! Sheesh, Bec! Even I know that! LOL. And YOU are the awesomest. Princess Bride, yo. I heart your face, so you better stick around. 😉

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Yay! I am glad that you keep on blogging. I love reading what you write. =)

  3. Writer Jen says:

    Happy Blog Birthday!

  4. rarasaur says:

    Happy birthday!!! 😀

  5. Good to be reading something from you lady! Thanks for the lovely mention – you are so kind! So happy birthday dear blogger! Another year? Yes please!

  6. Heather says:

    Aaawww! Thank you so much for the kind words! I am very glad I met you here on the internet and I really enjoy reading your blog and chatting with you on Twitter. ❤

    Happy Birthday and Blogoversary!

  7. Joy says:

    Happy Blogoversary to your blog and to you! I am really glad that I found you!
    PS: I love that thing about IRL *lol*!

  8. Piper George says:

    ” just barf up whatever word vomit I had in the pit of my stomach”
    Mmm – nice!
    Happy Blogbarfday.

It's boring when I do all the talking around here. Speak now, while you can get a word in edgewise.

