Wordless Wednesday: #TheHobbit

Image Credit:  John Howe (via Dana Mad Gallery)

Bilbo with Beorn by John Howe

hiding in trees

Chapter VI: Out of the Frying Pan – Into the Fire by Alan Lee (via Dana Mad)

Smaug

Scouring the Mountain by Ted Nasmith

For more stunning Middle-Earth art, visit the Dana Mad Gallery.  You can search by Topic in the left sidebar menu to find Middle-Earth artists.

8 comments on “Wordless Wednesday: #TheHobbit

  1. Heather says:

    See? Now THAT’S how I picture Beorn.

  2. […] The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings this summer. Recent posts include Danielle at ProfMomEsq on Hobbit-inspired art,  Kate’s take on Tolkien’s action sequences and dealing with dwarvish attitude at Kate […]

  3. davidjfuller says:

    I like that pic (I love most of John Howe’s stuff), but I think my favourite images of him are by Michael Hague — I have an illustrated edition of The Hobbit and he really captures his human and bearish sides.

  4. davidjfuller says:

    By the way, that is a GREAT artwork site. Missed seeing some of those wonderful Tolkien images from all the calendars I used to have.

  5. […] I neglected to include Danielle’s Wordless Wednesday post at ProfMomEsq, which features a great image of Beorn by John Howe. Also, I would have thought my WordPress plugins would add an earlier post here at As […]

It's boring when I do all the talking around here. Speak now, while you can get a word in edgewise.